Excerpt from Wild Hunt

Below is an excerpt from my debut novel, Wild Hunt:

Most girls on the island would be happy to be barefoot and pregnant to some fisherman for the rest of their lives, but Miriam wanted to see the world. If that was a sin, then she hoped she had a nice seat next to old Scrotch himself.

The guidance counselor was pretty much the only person she was able to trust through her entire high school years. He was the one who encouraged her to keep her grades up throughout the years. He kept reminding her that if she did, it was a guaranteed trip off the island for the better.

The counselor was from St. Johns. He came around once a week, since it was all the school district could afford. He was tall and muscular, with long black hair streaked with silver and tied at the nape of his neck. He was missing his left eye and the vacant socket was covered by a silver eye patch engraved with three triangles overlapping each other.

One day Miriam asked him about it. “Hey Mister Baley, how did you lose your eye anyway?”

Mister Baley gave her a sly grin. “Well, when I was a kid, I really wanted a pellet gun.  All my friends had one, so I kept bugging my mom. I even asked Santa Claus at the mall. One Christmas, when I was six years old, I opened up the only present under the tree that had my name on it. It was that pellet gun I wanted. I ran upstairs to my room and got dressed as fast as I could. I couldn’t wait to shoot that thing. I didn’t bother reading the instructions and didn’t discharge the extra air from the chamber before reloading. I knocked the trigger and shot my eye out, was lucky I didn’t get killed.”

Note:  This is slated for Re-Release sometime in early 2015 through  Saga Press.

I am currently working on the second novel of the series.  I’m trying to figure out a title for it.  Happening around Yule.  I’ll figure something out, no worries.

Leave a Reply

