Follow the White Plot Bunny!

Hey fellow authors!  Have you, while writing a novel or a story have a sudden burst of inspiration for a part that happens later on in your novel? It happens to me all the time. It goes sort of  like this:   “Ok this scene is in my head right now and I have to write this thing, but it doesn’t fit in the plot at the current spot in the novel so I’ll just type it up in another file and paste it in later.”

Is that a normal thing?  Yeah, because that’s how I roll with my process.

Like the other day I was just plugging along typing away and BAM I got hit with a scene that wouldn’t have fit in that part of the plot.  So I opened up notepad and typed it up.  Right now it’s a horrible mess in need of some really good proof reading and editing, but it’s down.

So, feel free to chime in!  Are you a plot jumper, or do you methodically stick to your outline come hell or high water? I’d like to hear from you!

I do think those are known as plot bunnies, but I’m not entirely sure.

Leave a Reply

