As an Author, it’s important to pick up a book once in a while

Yes.  Reading is the precursor to writing.  As Tyrion Lannister in Game of Thrones stated:  “A mind needs a book like a sword needs a whetstone” (Thank you Mr. Martin) So I’m picking up a book I’ve been meaning to for quite some time. Honestly, I’ve been ignoring my TBR list for far too long.

4407

American Gods by Neil Gaiman.  You can find it here on Goodreads.

I know I should read within my genre, but let me tell you a secret, I haven’t figured it out yet.  I have no idea what my genre could be, and I’m trying to figure it out.  So branching into something outside of super high fantasy might help me pinpoint it.

Funny personal story here.  I have a daughter, she’s got aspergers so she’s rather set in her ways.  She’s hooked on Rick Riordan, which is fine.  She wants to finish the Percy Jackson books and I’ll give her that, but here she is completely and utterly inflexible in her choice of authors.  It’s Rick Riordan or bust.  I had a bit of a stern talking to with her and I told her straight up that if everyone thought like that, new authors such as myself would be out of work.  Our books would sit on shelves (or in my case in a database) gathering dust, not to be opened.  Branching out is okay.  Authors don’t get pissed off if you choose to pick up an new author’s book.  We all have a story to tell and we want to encourage others to read them.

She finally relented, and is going to be picking up other authors I suggest to her and hopefully opening her mind.  I saw a trilogy at Chapters when I was in there and It was based in the Norse Pantheon and she agreed to give it a shot after she was finished with reading about Percy’s adventures.  Baby steps!  heh.  Special Needs Parenting ftw.

Anyway, the moral to my story is, give a new author a chance.  You never know, you might come back with a new favourite?

I’m a new author, and well yes, here’s my shameless plug.  You can check out my book by following the links on the side bar or up top.  For now, I’m going to read American Gods, and once I’m done that, get back to work on the sequel to Wild Hunt.

Leave a Reply

